Sunday, 3 April 2011

What Body Part is That?

Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton appear to be forging a long lasting partnership in the tradition of Roald Dahl and Quentin Blake. My now 10 year old son has been rather keen on their books for the past few years, and they are written exactly for this prepubertal (largely boy, fart joke obsessed) demographic. Their latest book is an exploration of human anatomy. Well, in their own inimitable style it is. Set out in two simple sections- The Parts You Can See and The Parts You Can't See. Makes sense to me.

And I did learn some stuff. I learnt about gut barging.

I learnt that humans are the only mammals that can sleep on their back (without looking completely stupid). Which seems obvious when you think about it. And led me to more fully appreciate why there is a specific website completely devoted to Upside Down Dogs.

I learnt that the velocity at which saliva leaves the mouth changes the nomenclature. Thus we have spit, drool and slobber.

I learnt that Jack Daniel (of Tennessee whisky fame) died from sepsis arising from an infected toe (apparently from kicking his safe, to which he could never remember the combination). Actually I think any kids book in which the J section of the index comprises Jack Daniel and Jimi Hendrix is pretty cool.

I also learnt valuable tips on how to  make myself look smarter (in #12 Chin)

If you want to make yourself look smarter than you actually are, try gently stroking your chin with your thumb and forefinger.

Do not stroke your chin too quickly or it will simply look like your chin is itchy.

It is also important to use the finger and thumb of the same hand, otherwise you will just end up looking like an idiot.

Thanks boys. Sage advice.

This counts as brushing up on Anatomy right?


bermudaonion said...

The book actually sounds interesting. I'm sure my son would have loved it when he was young!

Louise said...

It is quite an interesting book, perfectly made for young boys.

Deb Nance at Readerbuzz said...

It's a book my two sons, now 26 and 23, would have eaten up when they were kids.

Having just read Heidi, I can't help but set a Contemporary Body Noises Book like this up against Heidi. I can't imagine two more different books, both aimed at young audiences.